free verse, life, LOVE, ode, Poem, Uncategorized

Before You

Before you,

I turned my back to the sunlight in the doorway,

The shadow glistened on the ground;

A sad picture.

I sat with cold coffee,

My companion; a newspaper, and household pets

Filled the void.

I ran into the shade of a broken tree,

To save my shirt from quivering drops

of heavenly tears.

I ran ahead of my life, away from myself.

Before you.

 

Now I see the red curtains like a sky

With its damask cheeks, grinning at me.

I see the pawns of Chess- valiant warriors

Strutting on the board, knights-at-arm.

I see poetry, with each living breath.

After you.

Life.

Leave a Reply

